Gallery

I’m Here For You – Bicycle Friendly

On November 16th, 2011, Velonews ran a story about the “Bicycle Friendly” campaign launched by Lindsey Wilson College cycling coach Dave Grigsby. “The idea came from some of the people who live along one of our bike routes,” said Grigsby. “They came to us and said, ‘We really enjoy having you ride by, and we want to come up with a way to let the cyclists know that if they need assistance – such as water or a phone – they could stop in and ask us.’ We were really touched by this idea, so we came up with the idea of creating a decal for them to display.” The “Bicycle Friendly” decal was born. Once launched, local residents and businesses started displaying the decal, and the idea has continued  to spread.

Image

Show your support with a "Bicycle Friendly" decal.

While I’m not in Kentucky, I agree with the campaign’s ideals. For a donation of 1 USD per decal, plus 1 USD for shipping for up to 25 decals, you can also show your support for other cyclists. The money collected goes to support the Lindsey Wilson College Cycling Team.

My home isn’t on a road typically traveled by cyclists, but my Jeep passes many riders in Lancaster County, PA. To do my part, I plan on keeping a small stash of supplies in case a cyclist in need would flag me down. If you are interested in showing your support for cyclists, please contact Dave Grigsby to get your stickers. Details about the program can be found at wearebikefriendly.com.

One response to “I’m Here For You – Bicycle Friendly

  1. “My home isn’t on a road typically traveled by cyclists, but my Jeep passes many riders in Lancaster County, PA.”

    I put one on the right rear and one on the left front of our cars. The idea is that riders can see the decal as I approach them or after I have past, then all they have to do is wave me down if they need help. Decals are soon to be on the address marker at the road.

Leave a Reply

